Meet Our Team: Katia Gonzalez Quiroga

Give a little background information about yourself: I was born and raised in Monterrey, Mexico, and came to the U.S. for school. I got my Bachelor’s Degree in Psychology at the University of San Diego, as well as my California Multiple-Subject Teaching Credential (elementary school). Obviously, I love kids! I am currently working on getting my Master’s Degree at the University of Texas at Austin in Early Childhood Special Education and will be graduating this coming August. My hope is to become a BCBA within a year, and to open my own clinic in Mexico in the future.

What brought you in to this field? It all started out when I was in different elementary school placements as a requirement to obtain my teaching credential. There was a child with autism in my class and I fell in love! Scribbles instead of numbers on math worksheets, behavior tantrums, looking out the window during lessons, and constant motor stereotypy were a reality for this young boy. As I got to know him, I discovered an amazing and intelligent individual who led me to want to learn more about children who, for reasons yet unknown, live with this diagnosis. I was fascinated by the strength shown not only by the child, but by his parents. Having this little boy in class made me want to understand him, learn about his thought process and the way he was able to learn, while at the same time trying to control himself and be able to interact with other children in a school environment. I watched his growths, his setbacks, and became so enthused with his development that I decided to look for a job in behavior analysis.

What are some of your favorite parts about this job? My favorite part about my job is getting to see how beneficial ABA is to children with autism. Hearing a child’s first word, seeing them point in order to request, or waiting rather than having a tantrum, are all reasons for me to get up every morning. I also love our team. Never have I felt more at home and supported as an employee.

What are a couple interesting facts about yourself? I LOVE to travel! I have had the opportunity to visit over 30 countries. If I could do something every day, it would be just that. I love learning about different cultures and experiencing new things. I also love reading, knitting, baking, and skiing. Interestingly enough, my best friend taught me an original song on the piano which I can play really well. People would assume I’ve taken piano lessons for years, but, unfortunately, I cannot play anything else. Maybe one day I will.

 

Leave a Reply

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>